Queensland The Winner As Australia’s Series Against India Shifted To The State

Ongoing border closures and lockdowns has forced Cricket Australia to move the entire seven-game series between Australia and India to Queensland.

The CommBank Series featuring three ODIs, one Test match and three T20s  had been scheduled to begin in Sydney on September 19 before moving to Melbourne and Perth and then returning to the harbour city.

CA has confirmed that the Great Barrier Reef Arena in Mackay, formerly known as Harrup Park, will host the first three ODI’s beginning on September 21, 24 and 26.

The Gold Coast will then host the Women’s day / night test before also hosting three Women’s T20 all at Metricon Stadium in October.

Cricket Australia CEO Nick Hockley said the current COVID challenges are preventing the original schedule from proceeding as initially planned.

“We are incredibly grateful to the Queensland Government for agreeing to quarantine the Australian and Indian players and enabling this important series to be played in Queensland,” he said.

“We are also delighted to be bringing our World Champion women’s team to Mackay and regional Queensland.

“Having had to postpone the series last summer due to the pandemic, we are looking forward to hosting an Indian team which boasts some of the best players in the world in this historic series featuring the first ever day-night Test match between the two sides.”

The rescheduling by CA see’s the Gold Coast head into its fourth year of elite Cricket being played within the city and this announcement of 4 more games, makes a total of 10 games of elite cricket being hosted on the Gold Coast this Summer.