NBA 2K league announces expansion teams ahead of playoffs

The NBA 2K League has announced four expansion teams for the 2019 season; the Los Angeles Lakers, Minnesota Timberwolves, Atlanta Hawks and Brooklyn Nets.

The Inaugural season tipped off in May 2018 and features 102 of the best NBA 2K players in the world competing on 17 teams, with competition streamed live on Twitch and takes place from the NBA 2K League Studio Powered by Intel in New York City.

The 17-week season includes weekly matchups, three in-season tournaments and will culminate with the NBA 2K League Playoffs, with the final held on Saturday, Aug. 25 at 4 pm ET.

“Welcoming these four world-class organisations and their passionate fanbases to the NBA 2K League is an exciting moment not only for the league, but for the entire 2K community,” NBA 2K League Managing Director, Brendan Donohue said. 

“From their innovative spirit to their global reach, we know each of these teams will be a tremendous addition, and we are thrilled that this growth offers the opportunity for new players, coaches and support staff to join the league.”

The original 17 NBA 2K League teams are 76ers GC, Blazer5 Gaming, Bucks Gaming, Celtics Crossover Gaming, Cavs Legion GC, Grizz Gaming, Heat Check Gaming, Jazz Gaming, Kings Guard Gaming, Knicks Gaming, Magic Gaming, Mavs Gaming, Pacers Gaming, Pistons GT, Raptors Uprising GC, Warriors Gaming Squad, and Wizards District Gaming