Bankwest Stadium To Host A-League Finals Series With Limited Fans

ootball Federation Australia (FFA) announced Bankwest Stadium will host the entire Hyundai A-League 2020 finals series, with a limited number of fans allowed from the semi-finals.

The first two matches, as part of the elimination finals, will be played behind closed doors, before the stadium is opened up to 25% capacity or 7,500 for the semi-finals and the grand final.

FFA head of leagues, Greg O’Rourke, said the A-League will also reintroduce the Video Assistant Referee (VAR) for all matches of the finals, after not being used for the COVID-19 resumption of play from July.

“We have witnessed some amazing football since the restart of the Hyundai A-League 2019/20 Season with some 27 matches played in 34 days,” O’Rourke said.

“Under the current circumstances, we have made the decision to remain in NSW for the Hyundai A-League 2020 finals series and have selected Bankwest Stadium in Parramatta to host all matches.

“A limited number of fans will be able to attend the Hyundai A-League 2020 grand final (August 30) as well as the Hyundai A-League 2020 semi-finals, double-header matches (Wednesday, August 26).

“The Hyundai A-League 2020 elimination finals will be played on Saturday (August 22) and Sunday (August 23) without fans.

“In addition, we will also be re-introducing the use of the Video Assistant Referee (VAR) during all matches of the Hyundai A-League 2020 finals series.

“With all teams who have qualified in contention to claim the Championship Trophy, we are expecting a fantastic finish to the Hyundai A-League,” he said.

The final series is set to be broadcast live on Fox Sports, Sky Sport (New Zealand), Kayo Sports, and the MyFootball Live App, with selected matches also on a delayed broadcast on ABC TV.